Well, I’m still in Ireland…still doing nothing. I try really hard to not complain… but this is my blog right? We did evaluations today and I wrote that my experience thus far has been a 1 out of 5. I haven’t really expressed this to you Americans….
We are not having an Ireland experience… besides the fact that Northern Ireland is actually just England…. we are having a JBU experience in Ireland. I am with the same people every day all day (and I love these people…. Don’t get that wrong). We have one day in the city and our “Queens University class” is with thirty 70 year olds. This isn’t even really complaining, but it should be noted that my expectations of this experience is much different than reality. As far as understanding the culture of the Irish- I understand how the older generation lives… I have no clue how my generation lives. I have never met anyone, for longer than 5 minutes, that is under the age of 50.
The one time I felt like I had a true ‘cultural experience’ was sitting with my host-dad in his living room. We talked for probably two hours about anything and everything… it is a good memory and I am happy for it…. But what does it teach me about life here? I will see him and his wife maybe once every two weeks. They feed us (wonderful food) and they let us use their phone.
besides the lack of culture.... i do nothing all day. my school work is elementary and they act like we are idiots, so they don't get us any actual assignments. We've only had 2 outside writing assignments... i'm going to have a heart attack when I go to JBU next semester.
I still have good days and yesterday we went into Tallymore forest (C.S. Lewis’ Narnia) and it was absolutely beautiful….. but if I had the chance to change to a trip by myself to Russia, I would. At least I would actually live in a culture. I feel like, at best, I live in the U.K… with 15 people I knew in America. It’s frustrating to say the least. Everyone is sharing the frustration.. which only makes the frustration easier.
Anyways…………..I will tell of a few things we have been doing…
We saw the supposed grave of St. Patrick. It was cool.
We’ve noticed a different ‘spiritual’ scene here… At church last Sunday a few girls were prophesied to… then one day getting off the bus a 20-something guy handed me a piece of paper and asked me to hand it to ‘that boy’ (Luke). I thought it was his number to be honest… but Luke read it and it was Scripture and he wrote that he felt God telling him to pass this to Luke and wrote some more about what he felt God was trying to tell him. Then yesterday we went to church in Elkana and the moment I walked in, I wanted to walk out. I have never felt such an eerie presence in my life. It was supposed to be ‘charismatic’ but it wasn’t. it was just strange.
We went to our Literature professor's home and they served us a feast. So much good food. mmm
Dr. Ostrander (our Dean... and the dad of the girls I watch at school) arrived yesterday and leaves tomorrow, but it's wonderful to have a new face. We got to see the 'rich' side of Belfast where aparently homes go for 7 million dollars... ridiculous.
That's about it.... send me some mail though ok? thanks. :)
I spend a lot of time trying to figure out my life plan.. any suggestions?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
1 comment:
i'm so glad you wrote this...i'm glad i'm not the only one feeling the whole this-is-totally-not-what-i-expected thing. sadly...it makes me feel better. hang in there girl, i love you lots and miss you even more!!
p.s. a little birdie might have told me that you might be getting mail soon...just sayin.
Post a Comment